Denis Wirtz, Ph.D., is a Professor of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering and Materials Science in the Whiting School of Engineering and a member of the Oncology Department at the Johns Hopkins School of Medicine. He is an expert in cell and molecular biophysics and in the development of new methods grounded in physical principles, including statistical mechanics and polymer physics, to probe and establish the physical mechanisms of cell motility, intercellular adhesion, and microrheology. Wirtz serves as founding associate director of the Johns Hopkins Institute for NanoBioTechnology (INBT). He earned his Ph.D. in polymer physics at Stanford University.

Associate Director

Gregg Semenza, M.D., Ph.D., is the C. Michael Armstrong Professor at Johns Hopkins with appointments in Pediatrics, Medicine, Oncology, Radiation Oncology, Biological Chemistry, and the McKusick-Nathans Institute of Genetic Medicine. He serves as founding director of the Vascular Program in the Johns Hopkins Institute for Cell Engineering. He earned his M.D. and Ph.D. from the University of Pennsylvania; trained in pediatrics at Duke University; and was a post-doctoral fellow in Medical Genetics at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine.